The World’s Best Love Story!

Whenever a close friend recounts her ordeals and struggles in tending on her old mom and her elder sis, [both of failing health conditions], I would usually utter, “Why not ask God to have their lives be taken back?”

That was such an insensitive half-meant joke a person can utter to someone who is obviously feeling miserable. I wished I could have been more sympathetic and should have avoided giving unhealthy remarks. It was not a perfect comic relief, after all!

Her usual response would be, “I do not like this conversation [anymore/again]!” Then she would confine to her tight-lipped nature or worse walk out from the conversation.

Seeing someone you love suffering is the worst picture one can go through. The pain is double excruciating.

I remember 13 years ago when my younger sister, Mary Anne, died of a chronic heart disease. She has just turned 11 years old when that sad day of November came. The loss was too painful but there was that feeling of relief realizing that we could no longer see her cringing from extreme physical pain.

For a family who cannot do more but pray and hope for her recovery, her death was a heavenly reward. For a family whose earning was just enough to make our bodies and souls together, and sustaining her medications were financially arduous and sending her to a medical institution for an operation is next to hopelessness, I knew in my heart [I was  a senior high school student then]that  I prayed that God would save her from her plight. It was heartbreaking but I know it was His own special way of giving my prayers an answer…

My friend would never give up on her mom and her sis despite the odds. All through these crucial years, she has managed to bring to light from deep within her heart the hope and love that kept her spirit and those of her loved ones up! It’s moving that she never gets tired caring and praying…

My friend’s story is inspiring! So is the story of Edwarda – the world’s longest living coma patient. I‘ve stumbled upon this article on CNN and it’s worth sharing.

Below are quotes I took from the article. I shared them on Twitter.

PLEASE READ THE ARTICLE BY CLICKING ON THE LINK BELOW.

There is something good in suffering. It is when our resilience, hopefulness, optimism and resounding faith are best tested. I know out of suffering, the best love stories are known…

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

