A Psalm for Busy People

[slideshow]

The Lord is my Pacesetter
I shall not rush,
He makes me stop and rest
For quiet intervals,
He provides me with images of stillness
Which restore my serenity,
He leads me in ways of efficiency
Through calmness of mind
And His guidance is peace.

 
Even though I have great many
Things to accomplish each day,
I will not fret.
For His presence is here;
His timeliness, His all importance
Will keep me in balance.
He prepares refreshment and renewal
For me in the midst of my activity,
By anointing my mind with
His oils of tranquility,
My cup of joyous energy overflows.
 
Surely harmony and effectiveness
Shall be the fruits of my hours.
For I shall walk in the pace of my
Lord forever.
Amen.

***

Thanks to my long time friend and former colleague, Ms. Rosalie Hunat for handing me a copy of the psalm.

Supposedly this blog should have been published on May 1 as the world pays tribute to our noble laborers and workers, but I was unable to retrieve the copy Rosalie has given me four years ago in time with the occasion.

Crumpled and torn, I encoded the texts on a half sheet of intermediate paper written by Ging [her closest friends preferred to call her by that nick] as I remember how my very good friend Lany transcribe with utmost prudence every utterance a medical expert says on his/her patient. Lany was luckier enough as a home-based medical transcriptionist because she has the privilege of enjoying her job in a less stressful environment compared to other MTs [including call center agents] who are always under the watchful eye of an arrogant supervisor [this is just an exaggeration].

In the midst of busiest tasks [I love this phrase in Bikol: Sa tahaw nin kasiributan], people who love office work, just like another close friends Bito and Cyril including my favorite Mama Badang, maintain their sanity and poise. Though monotonous and a bit boring [this is a personal opinion], office works, especially those at the frontline services facilitate trouble-free business transactions. Thanks to our very able office pips who made themselves readily available in the name of public service.

I envy the special privileges people in the corporate world gain in line with their assigned field. Kuya Ram’s trip to South Asia and Gail’s nomadic adventure [visit her blog at  The Pinay Solobackpacker or like her page at Facebook.. gosh, she has 6K ‘likers’ so far] are a rewarding fusion of business and pleasure. But, undoubtedly, theirs aren’t just an easy job.

My father’s profession as a public transport [jeepney] driver has inspired me a lot! The harshest kinds of seasons and weather conditions serve no barrier for him and the thousands of jeepney, bus, tricycle, pedicab, habal-habal drivers, and the entire people in the transport sector to keep their family’s bodies and souls together.  Their very meager income plus the constant intimidation of oil price trends, etc. are just enough for them to be halfhearted. Fortunately, they are among the toughest laborers who have toiled in this planet.

With great esteem, I would not fail to mention in this blog the noble teachers who altruistically share themselves in order that others are able to discover their own potentials and bring out the best in them. I have met teachers who are very dedicated and go beyond what are prescribed in their form 122D. Specially, I am paying honor to our thousands of volunteer teachers like my cousin Julie and my friend Altreb who unreluctantly offered their best for the good of our school children. Mabuhay kayo!

Finally, let not this post forget the hardworking overseas Filipino workers. Tagged as the ‘modern heroes’ of this generation, unquestionably they are contributory in boosting the Philippine economy. But more importantly apart from their economic significance, I have high regards for them because they   painstakingly manifest the proficiency, ingenuity and dedication of our people as valiant workers! Thank you for showing the world how extra hardworking are the Filipino people. Particularly I admire Manoy Jay and Manoy Elden for doing well in the field of journalism in the Middle East… and for highlighting once in their paper the wanders of Magallanes. It is inspiring how Manay Irma guides her ward to grow as fine gentlemen. I am also deeply touched of the perseverance and selfless commitment of my Ate Doray in making her family secured and providing all of her best for them. You have our appreciation!

To the hardworking people whom I have mentioned in this blog and the many others I have failed to tag, this psalm is for you! Please take good care of yourselves. Happy working…

3 thoughts on “A Psalm for Busy People”

Leave a Reply

