The sun sets for Daddy Ingo

The photo above shows the beautiful sunset with the peaceful Ticao Pass on the foreground just in front of Halabangbaybay, Behia, Magallanes, Sorsogon.
I was lucky to capture this breathtaking sight while we were on our way home from school.
The pic seems to stir poignant feeling in me and I can barely explain it. The sun and its reflection… the hopeful fishermen who were surely up for a good catch… picture perfect!
This time, this photo means more to me than ever.
This time this photo speaks not only of the beautiful sight I am blessed to see every twilight. More importantly, this pic is a reminiscent of one important person I have personally known since 2004.
Pay Inggo or Daddy Ingo, as I fondly call him owns the motorized banca on the picture- the Marvin, named after his youngest son who happens to be our student. Marvin and Daddy Inggo have become parts of our lives as we go to school. Their tandem has made our travel so safe amidst the bullying of the monsoon waves. For the past six years, Marvin¸ Daddy Ingo and his sons are my best travel buddies – five days in a week…
Even before the school had its first permanent item for regular teachers, Daddy Inggo had been rendering service to the faculty of BagataoNHS. He provided service for the teachers since 1999 when the school was founded. My co-teachers like Mam Cho, who had known Daddy Inggo for the past decade can surely recount numerous experiences while they were on board… the struggle to maneuver Marvin while the strongest waves (and winds) attempted to capsize them for the nth time… and how Daddy Inggo safely managed to take them to the shores… the story behind mariw-bariw which I never had the chance to figure out… the picnics… and a lot more…
I first met Daddy Inggo when I volunteered for NAMFREL during the May 2004 Presidential Elections. He was the one who took time taking us to the mainland after we secured the copies of the election returns.  It was very early in the morning after the Election Day and it was obvious that he was fresh from his sleep when people in the Kapilya Council sought assistance from him.
We crossed paths again during my first day as a high school volunteer teacher in Bagatao NHS in June 2004. Since then, he became one person I look forward to see every time I was set to go to the island. I jokingly told my co-teachers [and friends at the same time] that he belongs to the non-teaching personnel of the school [we don’t have any].
Daddy Inggo served as a father figure for us though he was oftentimes moody. Whenever the weather (especially the sea) turned unwell, he never failed to personally remind us that we have to cut short our classes and went home early. When lawlaw abounds the island, he forgets not to send us some for our viand. I loved the prinito and dinarang na lawlaw he prepared for us.
Lately, he was ill and had a recurrent visit to his physician for check up. It was found out that he was having hypertension and cardio-vascular problems. But he looked fine and healthy. It wasn’t apparent that he was not feeling better.
One afternoon (around 1pm), after I attended a conference at the Division Office on December 7, 2010, I learned that Daddy Inggo finally gave in. He passed away in our town’s rural hospital that day at around six in the morning. It was not the kind of news I would love to hear!
Everything flashed back! I was grasping to muster all the happy thoughts I could think of when we were with Daddy Inggo. And like a movie rerun, I savored the memories with him. I enjoyed watching him dancing with Mam Joan during the school’s PTA officers’ joint oath taking ceremony last September 16. (It was his first time joining the teachers in a school-organized party)… I loved to see him laughing out loud whenever we played silly jokes… I liked watching him smiling when I scream my heart out every time a strong wave seemed to toss Marvin.
Most of all, I appreciate how he patiently waited for us after every afternoon after school hours as the sun begins to set. With his row [timon] on one of his hands, he smiled [the smile that was more colorful than the twilight’s ambiance] at us as if he was saying “It’s time to go home!”
Thank you Daddy Inggo! We love you…

4 thoughts on “The sun sets for Daddy Ingo”

  1. I do also have compiled memories with our very own Daddy Inggo since 2007….The smiles, jokes, and mad looks(of going home when the sun had set) which he (Daddy Inggo) throws us, give me fresh tune of how satisfying island life as teacher is…And same pain stirred my heart as I reminisce those.Nonetheless, I will continuously hope that we will see him again…IN THE MORNING!Farewell DADDY INGGZ.

    Like

  2. Please extend my condolences sa family na nabayaan ni Pay Inggo… and dispensa man po na dai ako nakaduman sa burol… ngunian ko lang po kaya naaraman, dai man po ako pwd maghali ngunian kaya dai aki makadapit! [December 11, 2010 7:02am]

    Like

Leave a Reply

